Payments in Brazil

Mercado Pago vs PagBank vs Asaas

Mercado Pago, PagBank, Asaas side by side: price, free tier, what matters in Brazil, who each one fits and when to skip it.
Item
What it doesMercado Livre's payments arm: checkout, payment links and subscriptions with Pix, boleto, card and Mercado Pago balance.PagSeguro's bank and gateway: checkout, payment links and recurring payments with Pix, boleto and card, paid into a PagBank account.Brazilian billing platform that takes Pix, boleto and card, runs subscriptions and issues service invoices from the same account.
Best forA SaaS selling to consumers who already pay with a Mercado Pago account, where a familiar checkout and paying with balance or Pix lifts conversion.A SaaS that already uses a PagBank account and wants to sell plans in up to 18 installments with a ready-made checkout.A Brazilian SaaS that bills monthly by Pix, boleto or card and wants the nota fiscal issued automatically when each charge is paid.
Skip it ifYou want card money fast at a low rate, since getting it right away costs 4.98% and the 3.98% rate means waiting 30 days.Most of your customers pay by Pix, since 1.89% per Pix on the checkout is well above gateways that charge a flat fee.Most of your revenue is on card and you need the money fast, since card sales land in 32 days unless you pay to advance them.
SetupA little code. A payment link in minutes from the app; a checkout plugged into your product in a day or two.Needs a developer. A payment link the same day; a subscription flow takes a few days, plus however long the integrations team takes to release production.Needs a developer. Up to 2 business days for the account review; a basic subscription flow in a day or two.
PricePay per transaction: 0.99% per Pix, R$3.49 per boleto, card 3.98% to 4.98% by payout timePay per transaction: 1.89% per Pix, card from 3.99% + R$0.40 (paid in 30 days)Pay per transaction: R$1.99 per Pix or boleto, card from 2.99% + R$0.49
What it costs in practiceA SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 (R$9,800 a month): by Pix, 0.99% ≈ R$97; by card waiting 30 days, 3.98% ≈ R$390; by card paid right away, 4.98% ≈ R$488 (estimate).A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 on card, paid in 30 days: 200 × (3.99% of R$49 + R$0.40) ≈ R$471 a month, about 4.8% of revenue (estimate). Getting it in 14 days: 200 × (4.99% of R$49 + R$0.40) ≈ R$569.A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 paying by Pix, after the first 3 months: 200 × R$1.99 ≈ R$398, plus R$0.49 × 200 ≈ R$98 if you issue the nota fiscal. About R$496 a month, roughly 5% of revenue (estimate). On card it would be 200 × (2.99% of R$49 + R$0.49) ≈ R$391.
Free planNo monthly fee; you pay per transaction.No sign-up fee; you pay per transaction.No monthly or setup fee; you pay only when a charge is paid.
Card fee3.98% (paid in 30 days) to 4.98% (right away)3.99% + R$0.40 (paid in 30 days)2.99% + R$0.49 (one-time payment)
Pix fee0.99%1.89%R$1.99 per Pix (R$0.99 for the first 3 months)
Boleto feeR$3.49 per boleto3.99% + R$0.40 (paid in 30 days)R$1.99 per paid boleto (R$0.99 for the first 3 months)
When you get paidPix right away; boleto up to 3 days; card you choosePix within 1 hour; card in 14 or 30 daysCard in 32 days; advance in up to 2 business days
SubscriptionsYes, by card, Pix, boleto or balanceYes, by card (boleto via API only)Yes, by card or boleto
Takes PixYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Takes boletoYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Issues nota fiscalNot stated: not statedNot stated: not statedYes: yes
Support in PortugueseYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Before you build
  • The card fee depends on when you get the money: 4.98% right away, 4.49% in 14 days or 3.98% in 30 days. The low rate on the ads means waiting a month.
  • Pix through the API only works if your account has a Pix key registered. Without it, Pix doesn't show up for the customer.
  • When a customer opens a complaint or dispute, the money for that sale is held until the mediation is resolved.
  • In card subscriptions, Mercado Pago runs a small test charge to validate the card, and after 3 declined installments the subscription is cancelled automatically.
  • The recurring payments API is only for business (PJ) accounts approved in onboarding, and production has to be released by PagBank's integrations team.
  • The recurring checkout and recurring payment link take credit card only. Pix isn't supported for subscriptions.
  • Card and boleto cost 4.99% + R$0.40 to get the money in 14 days, or 3.99% + R$0.40 to wait 30 days.
  • If you offer installments without interest to the buyer, you pay 2.99% a month on them.
  • Pix money arrives in about 1 hour, but that depends on availability and a security review.
  • The R$0.99 Pix and boleto fee only lasts for the first 3 months of the account; after that it doubles to R$1.99. Do your math on R$1.99.
  • Email and SMS reminders cost R$0.99 per paid charge, on top of the Pix, boleto or card fee.
  • Card money arrives in 32 days. Getting it sooner costs 1.25% a month and depends on a credit review, so it isn't guaranteed.
  • Company accounts get 30 free transfers a month; each one after that costs R$2.00, and a TED costs R$5.00.
  • Each nota fiscal costs R$0.49 to issue, so automatic invoicing isn't free.
Price checked

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Prices are read from each official pricing page on the date shown and can change. Always confirm before signing up.

Faundr

Picked your tools? Build it with AI, safely.

Faundr keeps your project’s memory, blocks what can’t be undone and tells you if it’s safe to launch, inside Claude Code and Codex.