Payments in Brazil

Asaas vs AbacatePay vs Stripe

Asaas, AbacatePay, Stripe side by side: price, free tier, what matters in Brazil, who each one fits and when to skip it.
Item
What it doesBrazilian billing platform that takes Pix, boleto and card, runs subscriptions and issues service invoices from the same account.Developer-first Brazilian gateway for Pix, boleto and card, with flat fees, SDKs and an llms.txt you can hand to an AI to build the integration.Payments API with checkout, subscriptions and billing, used by most SaaS companies worldwide.
Best forA Brazilian SaaS that bills monthly by Pix, boleto or card and wants the nota fiscal issued automatically when each charge is paid.A small SaaS with a CNPJ that bills mostly by Pix and wants a flat R$0.80 per charge, money available right away and an integration an AI can write.A SaaS billing monthly plans by card in several currencies that wants upgrades, trials and retries handled by the best subscription API around.
Skip it ifMost of your revenue is on card and you need the money fast, since card sales land in 32 days unless you pay to advance them.You sell as an individual (CPF only), need split payments for a marketplace or want the nota fiscal issued by the gateway.You sell to consumers in many countries and don't want to register for VAT and sales tax yourself, since Stripe isn't the merchant of record.
SetupNeeds a developer. Up to 2 business days for the account review; a basic subscription flow in a day or two.Needs a developer. A Pix checkout in Dev mode in an afternoon; up to 3 business days for production approval.Needs a developer. Checkout and subscriptions in test mode in an afternoon; real payments after the account activation review.
PricePay per transaction: R$1.99 per Pix or boleto, card from 2.99% + R$0.49Pay per transaction: R$0.80 per Pix, R$2.50 per paid boleto, card 3.5% + R$0.602.9% + 30¢ per US card; international cards cost more; Billing 0.7%
What it costs in practiceA SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 paying by Pix, after the first 3 months: 200 × R$1.99 ≈ R$398, plus R$0.49 × 200 ≈ R$98 if you issue the nota fiscal. About R$496 a month, roughly 5% of revenue (estimate). On card it would be 200 × (2.99% of R$49 + R$0.49) ≈ R$391.A SaaS with 200 subscribers at R$49 paying by Pix: 200 × R$0.80 = R$160 a month, about 1.6% of revenue, plus R$0.80 per withdrawal (estimate). On card it would be 200 × (3.5% of R$49 + R$0.60) ≈ R$463.A SaaS with 200 subscribers at $29 on US cards: 200 × (2.9% of $29 + $0.30) ≈ $228, plus Billing at 0.7% of $5,800 ≈ $41. About $269 a month in fees, roughly 4.6% of revenue (estimate).
Free planNo monthly or setup fee; you pay only when a charge is paid.No plan or monthly fee; you pay per transaction.No monthly fee; you pay per transaction.
Card fee2.99% + R$0.49 (one-time payment)3.5% + R$0.60 (one-time payment)3.99% + R$0.39
Pix feeR$1.99 per Pix (R$0.99 for the first 3 months)R$0.80 per Pix1.19% (invite only, no recurring Pix)
Boleto feeR$1.99 per paid boleto (R$0.99 for the first 3 months)R$2.50 per paid boletoR$3.45 per paid boleto
When you get paidCard in 32 days; advance in up to 2 business daysPix right away; boleto up to 3 business days; card in 30 daysCards in 30 days; Pix and boleto in 2 business days
SubscriptionsYes, by card or boletoYes, by Pix or card, weekly to yearlyYes, Stripe Billing (+0.7% of volume)
Takes PixYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Takes boletoYes: yesYes: yesYes: yes
Issues nota fiscalYes: yesNot stated: not statedNo: no
Support in PortugueseYes: yesYes: yesNot stated: not stated
Before you build
  • The R$0.99 Pix and boleto fee only lasts for the first 3 months of the account; after that it doubles to R$1.99. Do your math on R$1.99.
  • Email and SMS reminders cost R$0.99 per paid charge, on top of the Pix, boleto or card fee.
  • Card money arrives in 32 days. Getting it sooner costs 1.25% a month and depends on a credit review, so it isn't guaranteed.
  • Company accounts get 30 free transfers a month; each one after that costs R$2.00, and a TED costs R$5.00.
  • Each nota fiscal costs R$0.49 to issue, so automatic invoicing isn't free.
  • Only companies are accepted (MEI and ME count). With just a CPF you can build in Dev mode but can't take real payments.
  • New accounts start with limits of R$5,000 during the day and R$1,000 at night for withdrawals and payments. Raising them isn't automatic and can take up to 7 business days.
  • Card payments are only switched on after the team reviews your account, and card money lands in 30 days by default.
  • Withdrawals only go to a Pix key under the same CNPJ. The first 20 a month cost R$0.80 each; from the 21st on, R$2.50.
  • Subscriptions default to card. If you use Pix Automático, coupons are refused because the Pix mandate locks the amount.
  • Stripe isn't the merchant of record: registering for, collecting and filing sales tax or VAT in each country you sell to is on you.
  • Stripe Tax only calculates and collects tax, for 0.5% of volume where you're registered. Filing the returns needs the separate Tax Complete plan.
  • Your first payout usually lands 7 to 14 days after your first live payment, depending on your industry, country and risk level.
  • Subscriptions run on Stripe Billing, which adds 0.7% of the billed volume on top of the card fee.
  • Each card dispute costs $15 in the US, and countering it costs another $15 that you only get back if you win.
Price checked

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Checked on Oct 28, 2026 · official pricing

Prices are read from each official pricing page on the date shown and can change. Always confirm before signing up.

Faundr

Picked your tools? Build it with AI, safely.

Faundr keeps your project’s memory, blocks what can’t be undone and tells you if it’s safe to launch, inside Claude Code and Codex.